One hundred and fifty-six teams from 32 different countries will compete at Silverstone on 14-17 July as Formula Student UK accelerates into its 19th year.

This year sees teams from Sri Lanka and Ecuador entering Formula Student for the first time. The other teams will be arriving from Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Denmark, Egypt, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, India, Ireland, Italy, Jordan, Norway, Pakistan, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, the Netherlands, Turkey, the UK and Ukraine.

Institution President Richard Folkson said: “Students who compete in Formula Student are highly valued in all sectors of industry, not just in automotive engineering, but across all disciplines such as aerospace, power industries, manufacturing and process industries.

”As always, I’m extremely excited to see what engineering innovations will be on show this year and I wish all teams taking part the best of luck.”

Ross Brawn, former Team Principal of the MERCEDES AMG PETRONAS Formula One Team, returns as competition patron. This year’s Ambassadors include Paddy Lowe, Executive Director of Mercedes AMG Petronas F1, Willem Toet, Former Head of Aerodynamics at Sauber F1, former Formula 1 driver David Brabham and BBC science presenter Dallas Campbell.

Read more at IMechE